The Official Website of Gene Autry, America's Favorite Singing Cowboy

Fun Autry Fact:

The official publication of the original Gene Autry Fan Club was "Autry's Aces."

Album Information

Riders in the Sky: Public Cowboy #1

October 22, 1996

Rounder Records

The beauty of Gene Autry's songs and the innocence of his era live on. On this album, Riders in the Sky pay glorious tribute to the man who forever defined the image of the Singing Cowboy. Here, in the words of performer Too Slim, is the story behind this album:

"The idea for this album was born on the night of February 6, 1996. At a TV taping honoring Country and Western greats, we performed a medley of Gene Autry songs. The man himself was there. A rare, real, and strong emotion touched us as Gene sat a few feet away, smiling, and singing along. We said to ourselves afterwards: "Let's do something for Gene." With respect, admiration, and affection we offer this music. Thanks, Mr. Autry. Thanks for blazing the trail."

Track Listing

  1. Back in the Saddle Again (3:58)
    (Gene Autry & Ray Whitley)
  2. Sioux City Sue (2:38)
    (Ray Freedman & Dick Thomas)
  3. Mexicali Rose (2:46)
    (Stone & Jack Tenney)
  4. You Are My Sunshine (3:23)
    (Jimmie Davis)
  5. Have I Told You Lately That I Love You? (3:38)
    (Scott Wiseman)
  6. Can't Shake the Sands of Texas from My Shoes (2:54)
    (Gene Autry, Johnston & Pitts)
  7. That Silver-Haired Daddy of Mine (3:58)
    (Gene Autry & Jimmy Long)
  8. Be Honest With Me (2:19)
    (Gene Autry & Fred Rose)
  9. Blue Canadian Rockies (2:43)
    (Gene Autry & Cindy Walker)
  10. Lonely River (3:01)
    (Gene Autry, Fred Rose, & Ray Whitley)
  11. South of the Border (3:12)
    (Michael Carr & Jimmy Kennedy)
  12. Ridin' Down the Canyon (4:16)
    (Gene Autry & Smiley Burnette)

Notes & Background Information

Riders in the Sky is Ranger Doug on acoustic guitar and vocals, Too Slim on bunkhouse bass and vocals, and Woody Paul on fiddle and vocals. Additional music contributions from Joey "The Cowpolka King" on accordion, George Tidwell on trumpet, Louis Brown on trombone, Kristin Wilkinson on Viola, Pamela Sixfin on violin, David Davidson on violin, and Robby Tuner on lap steel guitar.

Producer: Joey Miskulin for Musicwagon, Inc.
Recording: Brent Truitt
Mixing: Brent Truitt, IKurt Storey and Joey Miskulin
Mastering: Denny Purcell
Editing: Carlos Grier at Gerogetown Masters, Nashville, TN
String Arrangements: Kristin Wilkinson and Joey Miskulin
Cover Illustration: James Alan Higgins
Liner Notes: James H. Nottag, Autry Museum of Western Heritage
Song Notes: Douglas B. Green

Back to Music CDs Index